Jump to content

Search

Find the answer to your question

Do I need to disconnect my Drobo storage device before performing operating system upgrades?

Answer ID 70   |    Updated 05/27/2016 09:37 AM

 

Yes, please do disconnect your Drobo device before performing any upgrades on its host computer. An operating system upgrade can cause file corruption and/or data loss. Installing applications such as Boot Camp or Parallels can also present similar risks.

Before performing an OS upgrade (for example, XP to Vista or Windows 7, Tiger to Leopard or Snow Leopard, 10.6.x), please put your Drobo into standby mode or shut down your Drobo S, DroboPro or DroboElite. Then disconnect the data cable (USB, FireWire, eSATA or iSCSI) to prevent any possible file corruption. In Drobo Dashboard, click Advanced Controls -> Tools and then either Standy or Shutdown.

Thank you for helping us improve our knowledgebase!

If you need to contact DroboTechnical Support submit your request now.

Please note that you will not receive a response to your suggestion.